2015 OS Honorees

Hearty congratulations to all 2015 honorees from the OS Section! All of our honorees will be recognized at the Ocean Sciences lunch at the 2015 AGU Fall Meeting, with the main event at the lunch being our awarding of the Ocean Sciences and Early Career Awards, both with short presentations, and recognition of all of the other honorees.  We expect the lunch will be on Tuesday, Dec. 15 and hope you will all plan to attend if you are attending Fall Meeting.

Many thanks to all who served on the Honors and Recognition Committee and on the OS Fellows Committee. Please also say a special, silent thanks to the many who nominated and wrote supporting letters for these honors.  AGU honors and recognition programs only work because people are willing to put in a lot of time to recognize their fellow scientists, and your encouragement of your colleagues to take this step is important.

The following have been recognized by the OS section:

The following have been recognized by AGU for an Award and a Prize:

The following have been recognized as AGU Fellows: (see also the Eos announcement)

  • Allan Clarke, Florida State
  • John Farrington, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
  • Sarah Gille, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
  • Hans Paerl, UNC Chapel Hill
  • Rob Pinkel, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
  • Roger Samelson, Oregon State
  • Axel Timmerman, U. Hawaii
  • Martin Visbeck, GEOMAR (Kiel)