All posts by s_ocoma

Older posts
  • Lozier to Be AGU President-Elect/AGU Leadership Transitions

    Posted 10/20/18

    Congratulations to Susan Lozier, the new AGU president-elect! Also a member of the Ocean Sciences section, Susan will serve a 2-year term as president-elect starting in 2019, after which she will become AGU president in 2021. For the full list of election results go to the AGU Elections section or the recent Eos article.

  • 2018 AGU Election Results for Ocean Sciences


    Congratulations and welcome to the new officers for Ocean Sciences! Clare Reimers – President-elect Janet Sprintall – Physical Oceanography Secretary Kendra Daly – Biological Oceanography Secretary For the full list of election results go to the AGU Elections section or the recent Eos article.  

  • Fall Meeting Ocean Sciences: Outstanding Student Presentation Award (OSPA)

    Posted 09/30/18

    We are recruiting judges for the Ocean Sciences Outstanding Student Presentation Award (OSPA) at the Fall Meeting. Watch for announcements from OSPA coordinators Julia Moriarty (USGS, WHOI), Ajoy Kumar (Millersville University), Meng Xia (University of Maryland Eastern Shore) and Rip Hale (Old Dominion University).

  • 2018 AGU Union Medal, Award, and Prize Recipients from Ocean Sciences

    Posted 09/21/18

    Congratulations to the members of the Ocean Sciences section that are part of the class of 2018 Union honorees! Their contributions will be celebrated at the Honors Ceremony and Banquet, during the Fall Meeting 2018 in Washington, D. C.: Brandon Dugan (Colorado School of Mines) received the Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize (The […]

  • 2018 Class of AGU Fellows Announced

    Posted 08/26/18

    AGU has named 62 new Fellows and will honor them at the upcoming Fall Meeting 2018 in Washington, D. C. at this year’s Honors Tribute, to be held Wednesday, 12 December. Congratulations to all the honorees! Here are the fellows representing the Ocean Sciences section for their exceptional achievements, visionary leadership, talents, and dedication: Jess […]

  • 2018 AGU Ocean Sciences Section Awardees and Named Lecturers

    Posted 07/30/18

    The 2018 section awardees and named lecturers have been selected for the Fall Meeting. Congratulations to our colleagues, especially those representing the Ocean Sciences! Ocean Sciences Voyager Award Andréa G. Grottoli, Ohio State University Rachel Carson Lecture Claire B. Paris-Limouzy, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, University of Miami William S. and Carelyn Y. […]

  • Fall Meeting 2018 – Abstract Submissions

    Posted 07/07/18

    Abstracts can now be submitted for the Fall Meeting 2018 in Washington DC, 10-14 December. Town Hall and regular abstract submissions close August 1st. Early abstract submissions close July 25th.

  • Upcoming Leadership Elections

    Posted 06/13/18

    The AGU Leadership Development committee and section leaders are pleased to announce the slate of candidates for the 2018 AGU Election. AGU continues to evolve into a stronger, more innovative organization thanks to the dedication of volunteer leaders working in partnership with AGU staff. Please take a few moments to review the members who have […]

  • AGU Vice Chair Nomination: 2020

    Posted 05/14/18

    Be a part of planning the 2020 Ocean Sciences Meeting. The Ocean Sciences Meeting (OSM) is a collaborative effort between the American Geophysical Union (AGU), Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography (ASLO), and The Oceanographic Society (TOS).  The Ocean Sciences section of the AGU will appoint an individual to serve as the Vice […]

  • Section Newsletters


    Read the OS Section President’s newsletters May 2018 February 2018 September 2017 April 2017 January 2017 September 2016 January 2016 April 2015 December 2014 October 2014 August 2014

Older posts

Latest JGR-Oceans pubs

- Fangda Cui, Michel C. Boufadel, Xiaolong Geng, Feng Gao, Lin Zhao, Thomas King, Kenneth Lee

Journal of Geophysical Research: Oceans, EarlyView. [...]

- W. Yu, J. B. Song, A. Z. Cao, B. S. Yin, S. D. Guan

Journal of Geophysical Research: Oceans, EarlyView. [...]

- Nathan Grivault, Xianmin Hu, Paul G. Myers

Journal of Geophysical Research: Oceans, EarlyView. [...]