AGU Fellows from the Ocean Sciences Section – 2012


  • Laurence D. Armi, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego. For “his work on stratified flows in oceans and atmosphere”.
  • Edward T. Baker, Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, NOAA, Seattle, Wash. For “his innovative and sustained work on the relationship between submarine hydrothermalism and magmatism on scales from local to global”.
  • Robert H. Byrne, College of Marine Science, University of South Florida, St. Petersburg, Fla. For “his ground breaking research and scientific leadership on the marine physical chemistry of seawater and the global carbon cycle”.
  • Peter B. deMenocal, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University, Palisades, N. Y. For “his seminal work linking Plio-Pleistocene and Holocene African climate variability to human evolution and culture”.
  • William J. Emery, Colorado Center for Astrodynamics Research, University of Colorado, Boulder. For “advances in the remote sensing of ocean surface phenomena including sea surface temperature variations and ocean surface currents”.
  • Nicolas Gruber, Department of Environmental Sciences, ETH Z�rich, Zurich, Switzerland. For “his extraordinary scientific accomplishments and visionary leadership in ocean biogeochemistry research and education”.
  • George W. Luther III, College of Earth, Ocean, and Environment, University of Delaware, Lewes. For “his pioneering research in redox reactions, trace element speciation, and development of novel in situ electrochemical methods”.
  • James N. Moum, College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences, Oregon State University, Corvallis. For “outstanding contributions to our understanding of ocean mixing in coastal, abyssal and Equatorial regimes using innovative measurement techniques”.
  • Kenneth H. Nealson, Department of Earth Sciences, University of Southern California, Los Angeles. For “his pioneering work and leadership in the fields of geomicrobiology and geobiology and as an inspirational mentor and creative scientist”.
  • J. David Neelin, Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, University of California, Los Angeles. For “seminal contributions to our understanding of tropical climate variability, including El Nino”.
  • Ana C. Ravelo, Ocean Sciences Department, University of California, Santa Cruz. For “changing our image of the tropical Pacific Ocean during the period when continental ice sheets became recurring features”.
  • Raymond W. Schmitt, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, Mass. For “his fundamental contributions to the understanding of double-diffusive convection, oceanic turbulence and the global water cycle”.

Latest JGR-Oceans pubs

- Y. Nakayama, D. Menemenlis, M. Schodlok, E. Rignot

Recent studies suggest that the thickness of Winter Water (WW), that is, water with potential temperature below ∼-1 [...]

- M. S. Alberty, J. Sprintall, J. MacKinnon, A. Ganachaud, S. Cravatte, G. Eldin, C. Germineaud, A. Melet

The Solomon Sea is a marginal sea in the southwest Pacific that connects subtropical and equatorial circulation, co [...]

- Christophe Herbaut, Marie-Noëlle Houssais, Sally Close, Anne-Cécile Blaizot

The co-variability of the Atlantic Water (AW) branches in the Nordic Seas is investigated over the period 1979-2012 [...]